What I am Reading – July 2015

what i am reading july 2015

I love to read and will often have many books going at once.  Periodically I plan to update here with what I am reading and how it is going.

The 21-Day Sugar Detox by Diane Sanfilippo – I referenced this one earlier this week.  I have not read it cover to cover (a lot of it is lists of good and bad foods and recipes) but I did read the introductory sections and the tips about reducing sugar and why it is beneficial for our bodies to do so.  The book is informative and beautiful.  I have not tried any of the recipes but am looking forward to doing so.

The Mud Season: How One Woman’s Dream of Moving to Vermont, Raising Children, Chickens and Sheep, and Running the Old Country Store Pretty Much Led to One Calamity After Another by Ellen Stimson – this is about a woman who moved her family from St. Louis to Vermont in search of an ideal farm life in a beautiful state.  The title of the book suggests that all did not work out exactly as planned, but I have not gotten to that part yet.  I enjoy this author’s voice and style and love books about gardening and family life.

How to Be a High School Superstar  – A Revolutionary Plan to Get into College by Standing Out (Without Burning Out) by Cal Newport – this book debunks the notion that in order to get into the dream college, a high school student needs to join and lead every club, do every activity, get amazing grades in the hardest classes available and generally spend every hour of high school readying a “resume” to apply to college.  It gives concrete examples of kids who did not follow the traditional path yet still succeeded at achieving their goals for college admission.  Since we have kids in high school, I am often finding books like this on my reading list.  So far the takeaway is that a student will be more interesting as a person if he or she engages in activities and pursuits by choice and with passion.  I am hoping that somewhere in the book it gives some ideas about how to encourage your kids to find these passions.

10% Happier: How I Tamed the Voice in My Head, Reduced Stress Without Losing My Edge, and Found Self-Help That Actually Works–A True Story by Dan Harris – I loved this book.  I heard about it from Gretchen Rubin’s great podcast Happier.  Dan Harris is an ABC News reporter/anchor who finds himself researching and learning about meditation.  In the course of his research he tries the techniques and becomes a convert.  He estimates that meditation has made him 10% happier.  The book is very well written, funny and informative.  It makes a good case for trying meditation, but I have not done so yet.  How do you feel about meditation?

I’ve Still Got It…I Just Can’t Remember Where I Put It by Jenna McCarthy – I just picked this one up randomly at the library.  McCarthy is a talented, witty writer.  Her subject matter (“Awkward True Tales from the Far Side of Forty” is the subtitle) is near and dear to my heart and I can relate to many of her hilarious examples about marriage, motherhood and parenting.

Those are the books I am currently reading.  I’d love to hear what you are reading – anything to add to my list?

Leave a comment